Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Resources    Teacher looking for "Fireman"

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Teacher looking for "Fireman"
 Login/Join

posted
I am a teacher who is reading 451 with the class. My students have asked me to find the Fireman so that we can compare the two. Is this story still in publication? I appreciate the help. Please email me at keven345@yahoo.com with help. Thanks again.

Posts: 1 | Registered: 15 November 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Here's a link to a previous discussion that indicates you MAY be able to find it.
Good luck!
https://raybradburyboard.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/3791...631067901#2631067901

Posts: 3167 | Location: Box in Braling I's cellar | Registered: 02 July 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
RE: Posted 01 March 2005 01:26 PM

A few weeks back I had a similar request concerning locating a copy of the story which has never been collected in any of Mr. Bradbury's works (as it first ran). However, I did do a search via a regional library electronic system and have (in front of me as I type) a copy of "Science Fiction Origins" by William Nolan and Martin Greenberg (Fawcett Popular Library, NY, 1980). ISBN0-445-04626-0
(The story runs about 55 pages from paperback size pages.)

Anthology includes:
Fireman-Ray Bradbury
The Day of the Perky Pat-Philip Dick
The Fasterfaster Affair-Wm. Nolan
Hopper-Robt. Silverberg
He Who Sails-Roger Zelazny
Malice in Wonderland-Evan Hunter
Guardian Angel-A.C. Clarke

Occasionally e-bay has a copy up for bids from the Galaxy pulp s.f. magazine of the early 50's. They can be expensive.

Keven:
Speak with your always friendly librarian. I bet he or she will have the requested story in your hands post haste! Good luck.

Posts: 2804 | Location: Basement of a NNY Library | Registered: 07 April 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post