Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Resources    Help with 'Homecoming'

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Help with 'Homecoming'
 Login/Join

posted
Hi everyone!

I'm currently studying some swedish translations of Bradbury's short story 'Homecoming'. I would appreciate help with a question that has come up. I wonder if 'Homecoming' has been published in different versions in english, or has the text always remained the same? I hope someone might know and help me here.

Posts: 2 | Location: Sweden | Registered: 20 May 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Bradbury seems never to miss opportunities for revision, and the more a story is printed, the more it is revised. At least five distinct versions exist of "Homecoming."

First book version in "Dark Carnival," reprinted in the reissue, difficult and expensive to obtain.

First magazine version, which I have never seen (that issue was stolen from the library of the university I attended before I ever got there and I haven't seen it anywhere else) which, according to the reissue introduction in several places represents a later stage of revision than that in the book! Usually it's the other way around, but it seems deadline for submitting a final version for the book must have come sooner than for the magazine.

Most commonly-known version is from "The October Country," which I ASSUME is the version reprinted in most anthologies, though I certainly haven't compared them word-for-word. I don't know if it's been reprinted in magazines, but again would assume this, or a condensed form of it, would be the version used.

Revised version in "The Stories of Ray Bradbury," the first 100 stories collection.