Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Favorite Book/ Story    Dandelion Wine
Page 1 2 3 

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Dandelion Wine
 Login/Join

posted
Hello! N00b to the forum here, but I absolutely love Ray Bradbury!

I'm currently a high school student and the first work of Bradbury I've ever read would be the short story "All Summer in a Day" in elementary school. Sadly other than that I haven't been required to read any Bradbury for school. As of now I've read:

-Dark Carnival
-The Illustrated man
-The Golden Apples of the Sun
-The Martian Chronicles
-Fahrenheit 451
-Dandelion Wine (I'll get to this later in the thread/ discussion)
-A Medicine for Melancholy
-Something Wicked This way Comes
- The Stories of Ray Bradbury (800+ pages of goodness, including short stories from all of the books I've mentioned above and stories from The Small Assassin, R is for Rocket, and I sing The Body Electric, my favorite callaborative of Bradbury)
- Half Frowner of Bradbury Stories (800+ pages of goodness, second only to "The Stories of Ray Bradbury"
- The Parrot Who Met Papa
- Farewell Summer (A sequel to but not nearly as good as Dandelion Wine)

I would say I am pretty well read in Bradbury. He is definitely may favorite author, the same for many others of you I can safely assume.

My favorite Bradbury book so far is Dandelion Wine. Maybe it has something to do with the fact that I'm still technically a child but it really defined Summer perfectly for me. Douglas and Tom Spaulding were impossibly but necessarily too intelligent by the way. What I mean by that is that no child their ages never acts as smart or refined as they do at times but without their intelligence Bradbury never would've been able to get across some of the key points of the work. Did anyone notice the similarity to the short story "A Medicine for the Melancholy" in one of the final chapters of the book?