Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Details
 Login/Join

posted
So I'm pretty sure not every high school has the same books. However, over the last two years, my Lit. books have been sprinkled with numerous short stories by Ray Bradbury. I never really paid much attention, I mean as a high school student, I wasn't reading these stories by chose. However, when we had to read three of Ray's stories in succesion, I really was intrigued by his style of writing. My teacher had us discuss these stories, their similarites and what we liked about them. He talked highly of Ray and assigned us to write our own ending to The Pedestrian, as it was such an open ending. As an inspiring writer, I took this assignment with much graditude. I skimmed the story once more so I had it fresh in my brian, and began. Soon I was over taken by all this ideas and events that could happen in the situation I put Leonard Mead in. However, I didn't want to have my teacher sit through more then the four pages I wrote, so I cut my ideas short and summarized the key points. But one thing I noticed and tried my very hardest to replicate was Bradbury's undying love for detail. Every story I've read of his I could picture in my head word for word. For those of you who had the same type of assignment, what did you think of it? Did you like your final result? What do you think about Bradbury's attention to detail? Can you see the images as if it was a movie projecting in your mind, or do you find it boring and pointless?

<3ChrissyGale

Posts: 3 | Registered: 19 September 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Hi ChrissyGale, and welcome to the board.

I haven't done that exercise (been out of high school a loooooooong time!), but I sometimes get my film-making students to create storyboards from Bradbury stories. "The Pedestrian" is one of the stories I use.