Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

"Zero Hour"
 Login/Join

posted Hide Post
I think that is one possible reading, and I think it has some credibility given the political context of the time. However, when was the story first published? 1947? I'm no expert on '40s politics, but doesn't your reading make more sense for the 1950s? (i.e. when anti-communist paranoia was peaking)

Is there anything in the story to suggest that the children will be killed by the alien invader, or are you just assuming this? I'm not sure whether this would affect your reading of the story, but make sure you have got the "facts" of the story properly grounded before going on to discuss its meaning.

- Phil

Deputy Moderator | Visit my Bradbury website: www.bradburymedia.co.uk | Visit the Center for RB Studies: www.tinyurl.com/RBCenter

Posts: 5029 | Location: UK | Registered: 07 April 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
The children in the story were as VI Lenin called "Useful Idiots" . Their actions led to the destruction of their civilization. If the invaders were brutal enough to kill Mink's parents for her, What do you think they would do to Mink when she complained about something, anything?

Posts: 13 | Registered: 10 September 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Good question! I'm not very well versed in Lenin, so I should profess ignorance and encourage you to develop your thesis further.

However... I'm not entirely comfortable with the kids in the story being thought of as "useful idiots". Are they ignorant of what they are doing? In some ways they seem smarter than the adults: they are at least aware that there IS an alien invader, and they facilitate Drill quite knowingly. It could be argued that the parents are the idiots, for ignoring what's going on right under their noses.

Perhaps I need to know more about what Lenin meant.

- Phil