Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Inspired by Ray?    A Letter to All
Page 1 2 

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

A Letter to All
 Login/Join

posted
Hello to all.

My name is Lance Hawvermale. I was the second person ever to register on these forums. I remember my thrill at having found Ray Bradbury on the web. You see, I am now a professional writer, and I owe much of my success to Ray. Since my first initial postings on these boards, I have existed in what Internet parlance refers to as a �lurker.� That is, I�ve come here often to read the discussions and marvel at how many of you have become members, but I�ve seldom added my own thoughts to this fine parliament of Bradbury scholars and admirers. I have lurked. You might called me, �The One Who Waits.�

I suppose the purpose of this letter is threefold. First I would like publicly to thank Ray for the inspiration he has directly and indirectly supplied. When I wrote him, he set aside the time to reply. In his letter, he encouraged me to keep writing, so as not to be dead. Shortly thereafter my agent landed my first book deal (written under the pseudonym of Erin O�Rourke). My second novel is due out in July. I have also acquired several magazine credits, as well as many credits in the fantasy hobby trade. So thanks, Ray, for your letter and kind remarks.