Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Inspired by Ray?    Ha all, new here.

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Ha all, new here.
 Login/Join

posted
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to Ray Bradbury, but I've definitley been inspired by him, so I figure this is a good place to introduce myself.

I'm almost 36, but I only really discovered Ray about 7 years ago. I've always enjoyed the Christmas and Halloween seasons and I've been a big fan of 'A Christmas Carol' and 'The Legend of Sleepy Hollow' since I was young. I discovered Ray Bradbury when I had been reading some of Dickens other Christmas stories and wanted to read more Halloween themed stories. I did some google searching which led me to 'The Halloween Tree' and 'Something Wicked this Way Comes'.

To say I was pleasantly surprised would be an understatement.

Since then I've been reading and collecting books by Bradbury, and books about or in tribute to him, and its been a great journey so far.

I've enjoyed reading ever since I was young, mostly high fantasy and science fiction, later literary fiction and biography/memoirs, but I've always read primarily for the story and characters. Now Bradbury has taught me through his use of language, metaphor, and symbolism, to appreciate the art of writing, which has added a whole new level of enjoyment to reading for me.

My background is in science but in the last couple years my interest in Ray Bradbury, his books, and his writing style, has steadily grown. This has inspired me to study the art of literature, starting with his, as a hobby. If I'm being honest, I'm not really sure what that journey looks like, but I've been enjoying reading and collecting books and articles by him, about him, or in tribute to him, so I'm sure I'll enjoy it.