Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Resources    A Miracle of Rare Device
Page 1 2 

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

A Miracle of Rare Device
 Login/Join

posted
Help!
I'm a film student in the UK, and my assignment is to dramatise 'A Miracle of Rare Device', from the 'Machineries of Joy' collection - the story with the mirages of cities appearing in the desert. I've had to alter some of the events (we don't have many deserts over here, for example), and I'm having a bit of an argument with my tutor about the meaning of the story - what the different visions represent for different people, why some see nothing at all, why it takes the family at the end to reactivate the mirage, etc.
I really need to get as many opinions as I can from people who know the story, as to what they think it is about, and what its message is. I know it might seem obvious, but it would really help me.
Also, anyone know of any reviews or articles about this story?
Thanks very much for helping me!

Posts: 4 | Registered: 29 April 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I would love to help (this is the kind of question that is right up my alley), but I do not have a copy of "The Machineries of Joy" (I was shocked to discover this), and I am not seeing "A Miracle of Rare Device" in my other anthologies.

Sorry.

Posts: 1964 | Location: McKinney, Texas | Registered: 11 May 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I was so shocked that I did not have this in my library, I ordered a copy. I should get it in about four days. I don't know if that timeframe does you any good.

Posts: 1964 | Location: McKinney, Texas | Registered: 11 May 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Thank you Mr. Dark!