Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Resources    Another Open Letter to Ray Bradbury on Michael Moore

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Another Open Letter to Ray Bradbury on Michael Moore
 Login/Join

posted
Dear Ray,

I am sorry to hear about the loss of your wife Marguerite. I think it was in 7th grade, in fact, while I was a student in Mr. McClure's math class, that you came and lectured at Portola Jr. Highschool. I had been reading so many of your books, at the time. You were in my Uncle Robert Meyler's yearbook at Los Angeles Highschool, too, maybe a class behind or ahead of him.
I have read so many of your books, and enjoyed them so much. It is sad to hear about the quarrel you have with Michael Moore (re: "Fahrenheit 911"), although I understand your feelings. I am sure that he intended an honest tribute to what he obviously considers a masterwork, but ended up infringing. I even suspect James Joyce of "stealing" Stephen Dedalus and Leopold Bloom from the likes of Stephen Hawking and Kip Thorne, perhaps via time-travel through some wormhole, somewhere. I have also seen lots of things (movies, books, record albums) derivative of my experiences and ideas, as well, and it always annoys me a little. No attorney I have ever talked to has been able to help.
My solution? Do it to them.... I enclose a little story I finished today, below, which is an example, perhaps inspired by some of your ideas:

"Feeding the Plant"

The Plant arrived in my backyard one day, propelled along the connecting cosmic string by its own modus, depositing itself in the soil of my home's sloping backyard, and finding purchase there, sending out its Venus Flytrap-like leaves to photosynthesize our Sun's light in its new planet's atmosphere, hungrily awaiting greater nourishment.