Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Favorite Book/ Story    not my favorite, but a wonderful departure

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

not my favorite, but a wonderful departure
 Login/Join

posted
Is there anyone else out there who really, really likes "The Parrot who met Papa"?
I just read this one recently, for the first time. It's obviously less serious than some of RB's traditional fare, but I laughed outloud at the sly humor,literary joshing, and general tounge-in-cheek style throughout. I've found humor as element of Brabury's writing before, but it's almost always more subtle, and either bittersweet or mixed with heavier implications. Is there anything else that is this light and out and out funny?

Dan
p.s. I'm sorry to have missed the recent party on another thread, due to a forced lack of attention paid to pleasurable uses of the internet. Sigh. And I'm an undergrad. Partying is "supposedly" all we do. Maybe next time.

Posts: 117 | Location: The Great North of New York State | Registered: 29 August 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I would suggest "Junior" from The Toynbee Convector. About as well written a tongue in cheek story as there is. You may need to be middle aged to understand it but keep it mind as you age.

Posts: 257 | Location: Laguna Hills, CA USA | Registered: 02 January 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Ray's number one fan (and I MEAN it!) Donn Albright called that story "The Parrot Who Ate Papa" and said he either "couldn't stand" it or "hated" it.

Posts: 2694 | Location: Dayton, Washington, USA | Registered: 03 December 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Well, I wouldn't rank "The Parrot Who Met Papa" as his top story, but I certainly don't hate it. It's pretty breezy, but a fun little plot with a very petty character (Shelley Capon).