Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Favorite Book/ Story    The Halloween Tree
Page 1 2 

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

The Halloween Tree
 Login/Join

posted
I am a high school student writing a term paper on Ray. The topic I choose was the children story, The Halloween Tree, but I am having trouble finding information on what influenced him to write it? If you can help in any way it would be fantastic! Thanks

Posts: 1 | Location: crystal river ,fl usa | Registered: 24 April 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Wish I could provide more help.

I know two things: (1) Bradbury loves Halloween, so writing a story devoted to it is not surprising. (2) When you read the book, it's clear that PART of what he's doing is showing the mythology of Halloween and its symbols through time and in various cultures.

Sorry that's all I have at this point. My edition has neither a forward, preface nor Afterward, so I don't have any easy sources for you.

Posts: 2769 | Location: McKinney, Texas | Registered: 11 May 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
The interview with Ray Bradbury and Chuck Jones in Psychology Today, April 1968, will tell you all you need to know. The story of the little trick-or-treater standing on his head on Jones's lawn, and Bradbury's reaction to it, is priceless. It's also fascinating to read between the lines and see how the interviewer may have influenced the plot. The interview says not one word about the search for Pipkin. The interviewer felt the story sounded purely educational and not entertaining. It's quite possible Bradbury added Pipkin in response to this assessment. The film was eventually made, but years later and not by Jones. The cartoon version featured only four trick-or-treaters instead of eight and is quite well-done.