Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Favorite Book/ Story    Fav book: the Martian Chronicles?

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Fav book: the Martian Chronicles?
 Login/Join

posted
Hey all! I am new at this but know what I am talking about when I say I love The martian Chronicles. Any others out there? Huh? Any?

"It was not the age that killed the man, it was the mind that took his life." Megan, S., 16

Posts: 4 | Registered: 12 September 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I love The Martian Chronicles, also. But I also love Farenheit 451 and Something Wicked This Way Comes. These three, my Bradbury troika, turned me into a lifelong reader and lover of ideas. These three books changed my life forever. Farenheit 451 turned me on first, but when I got through these other two, I was changed.

There are devotees to Dandelion Wine on this site. I read it back in HS, and hope to read it again soon. (I'm planning to read The Halloween Tree and Something Wicked This Way Comes between now and Halloween, though; so Dandelion Wine has been bumped a bit.)

I also love a lot of Bradbury's short stories.

If you're new to Bradbury, you have a lifetime of enjoyment ahead of you. Read through these postings and you'll begin to get a feel for the impact Bradbury's writing has on people.

It is more than just great writing. Perhaps it needs to be regulated.

Posts: 1964 | Location: McKinney, Texas | Registered: 11 May 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Yeah, I've read most of his books filled with short stories of his, like the Illustrated Man, Quicker than the Eye, and the Toynbee Convector. My favorite short story is the Veldt.

I started reading his works after I went into 7th grade and read a short story of his for an assignment, have been reading his boks ever since.