Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Favorite Book/ Story    Saddest story/book
Page 1 2 3 

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Saddest story/book
 Login/Join

posted Hide Post
Okay, I have to admit, I'm not hip to "Heavy Set". It certainly sounds intriguing. Which anthology would I find it in?

Posts: 35 | Location: Portland, OR, USA | Registered: 23 July 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Bradbury is probably my favorite writer but he's not immune to--or afraid of--sentimentality. One of his greatest strengths is his complete commitment to it (as well as romance and wonder) so that it becomes a means of storytelling and not just a by-product of bad writing. I'm a writer as well and I can tell you the first thing you should do is kill the little editor inside your head and just get it down.

Posts: 35 | Location: Portland, OR, USA | Registered: 23 July 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Beirutwedding,

Good point about sentimentality. I've read some criticism to this effect but I don't find that as a fault with Bradbury. I think you hit the nail on the head when you say he's not afraid of it. Especially when he uses it as tool for storytelling.

Best,

Pete

Posts: 614 | Location: Oklahoma City, OK | Registered: 30 April 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I think many people get sentimental mixed up with maudlin. Ray is the first, but never the second.

Posts: 774 | Location: Westmont, Illinois 60559 | Registered: 04 January 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Right, "Heart Transplant" is a very sad and touching story, but despite (or rather because of) this sadness there is so much beauty in it!