Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Inspired by Ray?    Losing Women

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Losing Women
 Login/Join

posted
I don't even know if this is the right place to post, but I wanted to ask a question. Did Ray lose a woman he loved early in life? I've noticed he writes about ethereal women who disappear--Clarisse in F.451, Ann Taylor in A Love Story, and Tally in The Lake. I am new to Bradbury, so I am sure there are others, since he is so prolific. In two of the stories, he (the main character) returns to his home town and finds his first loves dead while accompanied by his wife. He never seems to have the same magical relationship with the wife. Even The Cistern, as I am thinking of this, involves a young woman who choses death, to be carried away by water to be with a lover.

I realize from watching Bradbury on youtube that he was influenced by a drowning of a girl in Lake Michigan, but it seems deeper than that, something to do with lost love or longing for that love. Anyone know anything?

Posts: 14 | Registered: 17 June 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
This may be better in 'Resources'. My apologies. This site often confuses me.

posted Hide Post
The drowning of the girl in the lake is the only specific incident I can recall reading about. Ray did also have an older brother who died before he was born, and a younger sister who was born and died when Ray was 6 or 7. (The older brother, Samuel, was a twin of Leonard, who lived to a ripe old age.)

If you want to dig deeper into Bradbury's biography, you should read Sam Weller's THE BRADBURY CHRONICLES - but I don't think you will find the grand "lost love" that you envisage.