Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Inspired by Ray?    Brave New World
Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Brave New World
 Login/Join

posted Hide Post
Mr. Dark, regarding The Dogs that Eat Sweet Grass--

As far as I can tell, it is an unpublished transcript of an interview about Ray's life. Here's some info from the UCLA Library:

<<
Title: The dogs that eat sweet grass oral history transcript / by Ray Bradbury ; interviewed by L. Craig Cunningham, [1961].

Published/distributed: [Los Angeles] : Oral History Program, University of California, Los Angeles, 1965.
Physical description: [v], 541 leaves, bound ; 28 cm.

Notes: Transcript of a 21-hour interview completed under the auspices of the UCLA Oral History Program.

Summary: Bradbury discusses his life and relates his experiences as a writer of short stories, novels and screenplays.

>>

Since I'm a grad student at UCLA, I'm gonna make an excuse to read it one of these days before I graduate.

[This message has been edited by WritingReptile (edited 01-16-2003).]

Posts: 229 | Location: Van Nuys, CA USA | Registered: 23 September 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Writing Reptile::Mr. Dark::

"The Dogs That Eat Sweet Grass" by Ray Bradbury

...was originally 'stolen' from the UCLA library, xeroxed full page size 8 1/2 x 11, bound in leather, with a frontispiece photo taken by a mutual friend and used without the photographer knowing it...

The actual produced copies as described were something in the neighborhood of 25, thereabouts. They were sold for unknown '$$$s'.

Ray, to say the very least.... was very upset by the whole situation. His manuscript was stolen (or borrowed) from UCLA, and then reproduced...(when he had given it to them for safekeeping). A copy, (the original could have been later returned, but that is unknown...) now sits in a library in Ohio.