Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Inspired by Ray?    9 yr. old girl

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

9 yr. old girl
 Login/Join

posted
My father handed me the book "Something Wicked This Way Comes" when I was 9 yrs. old. It changed my life. I read every book he wrote and went on to become a prolific reader and got my degree in Journalism from the University of Missouri. I've been told I'm an excellent writer and I give credit to Bradbury because I read one of the best writers there is when I was at the age of being influenced. I was deeply saddened to hear of his passing. I looked him up online in relation to the Mars Curiosity landing only to see he had recently left us. I mourn him like a father.

Posts: 1 | Registered: 10 August 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by ChainofRocks:
...I read one of the best writers there is when I was at the age of being influenced.

The best. Glad you kept writing.

"Live Forever!"

Posts: 6909 | Location: 11 South Saint James Street, Green Town, Illinois | Registered: 02 October 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
When I read Chain's post, I was touched by the image of a young child being read to by a loving parent. Though now both teens, we still read aloud to our boys. To this day I still enjoy entering our village library, walking past the children's section, and witnessing a parent sitting on the floor with opened book on lap and wide-eyed child captured by the moments! (Sadly, Peter and Wendy of Veldtown may now be the culture's dominant tendency.)

Though I suppose I may never hear, I always hoped, while offering RB tales over the years, this spark of which C of R writes would rest in the kindling of some youthful heart, waiting for just the right breeze to eventually come along.