Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Inspired by Ray?    The Bradbury Effect

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

The Bradbury Effect
 Login/Join

posted
I first read Bradbury in 1972, when I was 12. Three years earlier I had watched men land on the moon, live on TV, and I still have photos of the "Live Simulation" snapped from our B&W television.

I had a mad passion as a boy for anything to do with space missions, and I wrote often to NASA and the astronaut corps, with rewarding result. I also followed some of the other masters of the genre, including Isaac Asimov, who spoke at my college commencement in 1984.

But Bradbury was my favorite, for clarity and simplicity and sheer inspiration that mankind would ultimately go to strange places with sometimes unexpected results.

I studied scientific things in college, and have worked as a chemist in industry for 23 years. Now I've decided, once again, that I'd rather teach school. But this time I really mean it. I recently certified to teach General Science at the Middle School level in Massachusetts, and I'm hoping to soon leave the rat race behind to perform a higher function.

I hope that before my life is over I can look back and know that one young mind was inspired to know the fun, the magic and the wonder of science. That's what Ray Bradbury did for me.

I grieve for Mr. Bradbury's recent loss. Behind every great man... Well, Ray has been blessed for many years, and left an enormous legacy of which he
his beloved Marguerite can be proud.

God bless you, Ray Bradbury.

Geoff from Otis Mass

Posts: 3 | Location: The Berkshires, Massachusetts | Registered: 26 December 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I can tell you will be a great science teacher, Geoff. You have the enthusiasm and the wonder. Best wishes for a long and successful teaching career.