Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Inspired by Ray?    Almost 40, going nowhere until now thanks to Uncle Ray

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Almost 40, going nowhere until now thanks to Uncle Ray
 Login/Join

posted
I just have to say it. My life was ruined by people who had to bend my creativity and abilities to turn me into a computer programmer and lots of other things I HATED.

Nobody in my family has ever asked why I don't try and write for a living.

Did they assume I knew I was a great writer and that I didn't want to do that?

I have to say, it felt like they were saying no, you are not good enough to even try and be a writer, you are not good enough to want to write a book or a movie.

Like I had to be as miserable as they were. Like I didn't even have the right to try!

So here I am, Zen, saying YES, I can write. This is all coming out of me instantly, this is not a gag. I type what I think and this is what comes out. Fast.

What if I actually tried?

So yes, thank you Ray Bradbury. Thank you for explaining to me in Zen in the Art of Writing who I am.

It's about me from now on. The 39-year-old aging nothing. Watch me. I can fly.

Posts: 31 | Registered: 22 May 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Good luck with your writing. Ray will continue to do good for millenniums to come. One thing about Ray that blew me and probably everyone who knew him away was the way he always insisted, "You have your own work. Do your work," as if yours was or ever could be as important as his. But I guess that's the point--we don't know so we can't say it's not.