Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

my first
 Login/Join

posted
I have just finished reading Fahrenheit 451, my fist reading of this novel, and my first reading of anything written by Bradbury. As a high school student, I chose Fahrenheit 451 as an obvious classic, knowing that I would not be caught half way through the novel with no field of comparison between it and the in class read Brave New World. It became instead a living parallel to reality, darting in and out of my thoughts, words and passages coming to mind with the drop of association. It has meant so much more for me, a refuge from a numbing routine of work, books, bags and round about text. I sat in the hall reading while my friends gossiped and fake laughed their way through lunch today and thought, maybe I am as changed as they say I have become. But what if I don’t feel like laughing knowing Clarisse is dead? How can you expect me to smile when all I really want is out from this depressing mess. We have our own mechanical hounds at our heels, mine for now is a chemistry exam. Thank you Bradbury for this brilliant novel of destruction, loss and awakening. I hope one day my friends will wake to it too.

Posts: 1 | Registered: 24 April 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
kt,
“I sat in the hall reading…” is an excellent image. Thanks for showing it to me. One of Ray’s goals is to make things brighter for people. Don’t let the “depressing mess” get to you. Lots of stuff in the world wants to drag you down but to find ways to be happy is to triumph over it. One great way to do that is to keep reading people like Ray Bradbury. But it’s hard not to miss Clarisse isn’t it?

Posts: 861 | Location: Manchester CT | Registered: 13 August 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post