Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Inspired by Ray?    Fahrenheit 451 has returned my dream to me.
Page 1 2 

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Fahrenheit 451 has returned my dream to me.
 Login/Join

posted Hide Post
Dear Bradbury Community,

I return to this forum many years after my original post as a 16 year old in high school. Since my original post, I have not swayed from the path I set for myself. Although my response at the time did not reflect it (let's just say I was a dumbfounded teenager), the words that Bradbury sent to me through this community shot straight into my heart and lit a fire.

That fire never burned out. I even wrote that on my job applications and I was one of the first in my cohort to get hired. Ray Bradbury was the catalyst and continued to support me indirectly throughout my life.

I am now 25 years old and I am in my third year of teaching at the high school level. I returned to my home school district, and I was the youngest teacher in the district starting at 23 years old. I am both delighted and saddened to report this news: I have fulfilled my promise to Mr. Bradbury. I am in the process of teaching Fahrenheit 451 to my 10th graders for the first time this year, and so far they are engaged in the pre-reading activities. I am delighted that I was able to keep my promise, but my only regret is that I could not keep it fast enough to return to Mr. Bradbury, and truly say thank you in the best way I knew how to.

He changed my life with those words. I'll never forget it, and I can't wait to pass it onto my students. "Thank you" just does not suffice.

I mentioned it briefly that he wrote to me and is the reason I became a teacher. To their disbelief, I told them that I promised him I would teach his book, and here we are!

I love this job. I adore my students. I can't wait to share this treasured novel with them.

Always,