Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Inspired by Ray?    I've Got a Little Story Thanks to Ray

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

I've Got a Little Story Thanks to Ray
 Login/Join

posted
In the beginning of 8th grade, I read Zen in the Art of Writing. While reading it, I got a crazy idea- of an ambassador who kills people with salt, by pouring it into their dinner when they're not looking. The ambassador never got caught. The title was, and still is, "The Salt Murders"
Later on, I decided to have the US President killed instead with poisonous salt, so the first line went, "On September 11, 2001, the President of the US was killed." It was supposed to be an alternate scenario of September 11th, to make people wonder, "Could it have been worse?"
When my art teacher (and homeroom teacher) told me about this short story contest, I decided to submit "The Salt Murders" because I was already working on it. My English teacher and I went through about three drafts, and I enjoyed the story, because it had suspense, and life! I heard the narrator in my head, a nameless killer who sounded like a woman, though it could be a man for all you know! Even I don't know the name of the person who killed the President with poisonous salt. I prefer to keep it that way.
Sadly, my homeroom teacher dropped a bomb on me during break one day- the English teachers and school director had read the story and found the content inappropriate. I thought it was ridiculous- who ever heard of poisonous salt?- but due to the infamous Patriot Act, I could be arrested just for writing that. I decided, as revenge, to submit an essay on censorship.
I'm not mad at Ray. I am in his debt for giving me the idea. It was so cool, and I wouldn't have gotten it if I hadn't read Zen.