Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Inspired by Ray?    Fahrenheit 451

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Fahrenheit 451
 Login/Join

posted
Hi,

I am an Australian teacher. Last year my son read Ray's Fahrenheit 451. He read it while in year ten at the age of 15. This year he is six months older and they have him reading some really childish novels.

Daniel read the book at home and then we watched the video and had a great time discussing some of the issues raised by Ray.

It would mean a lot to me if Ray could send Daniel a few words and I could show the school so they realise that boys and girls his age can understand some of Ray's concepts. This may have the positive effect of raising the overall reading level across the middle school. Then again it may fall on deaf ears. I suppose I can only try.

Tell Ray that I really enjoyed his Martian Chronicles. Daniel and I are both sci-fi freaks. Good sci-fi of course.

My son goes to a school called Lake Illawarra High School. His name is Daniel Carrion. I hope Ray has time to read this email.

All the best from Australia,

Emilio Carrion

Posts: 2 | Location: Warilla, NSW, Australia | Registered: 18 February 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Ray isn't online, but I have seen to it he receives copies of some of the better discussions from this forum. I don't know how many of them he reads as he hasn't really responded to any. He did tell me by phone that his books are read by nine-year-olds in the original editions, which would seem to indicate he sees no need for simplification of his ideas or of keeping them out of the hands of younger readers.

Posts: 7299 | Location: Dayton, Washington, USA | Registered: 03 December 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post