Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Resources    Why was "There Will Come Soft Rains Written" ?

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Why was "There Will Come Soft Rains Written" ?
 Login/Join

posted
I'm a freshman in college and I'm writing a paper for my english class on "There Will Come Soft Rains". It is my favorite short story, and Sara Teasdale's poem is one of my favorite poems. The assignment is to find a work of fiction that was written as a reaction to an event, and to compare and contrast that work to that event and to a current event. I was just wondering if "There Will Come Soft Rains" was actually written as a reaction to Hiroshima and Nagasaki, and if anyone has any personal accounts of these events, or knows what motivated Mr. Bradbury to write this story. Any help you can give is greatly appreciated.
~Kaiti~

Posts: 1 | Location: Rehoboth/Dartmouth, Ma USA | Registered: 27 February 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Don't know the origin for the story you mentioned, but one of Ray's famous stories, early on...
The Pedestrian
...was written because Ray was actually stopped and harassed by the police for no other reason than he was walking late one evening.... Thus, The Pedestrian....

The Fog Horn... was written when Ray and his wife were walking along the ocean, and, I believe, an amusement park had been thereabouts, and a piece of the ride, something like the roller coaster or something, lay beneath the water...like the remains of a prehisotric animal...and Ray thought, Wow!...what happened if that were a Dinosaur, being awaken by the sound of a Fog Horn, come to the oceans shore to perhaps, meet its mate.... Ray ran home and wrote the story....
Dandelion... is the wizard on all these sorts of things...she'll probably help you when she logs on later ......