Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Resources    Ask rAy brAdbUry A qUEstIOn !
Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Ask rAy brAdbUry A qUEstIOn !
 Login/Join

posted Hide Post
How do you deal with the long periods where you don't sell anything? I am consumed by writing and it fills a vast majority of my time, but the drought of responses can be nerve-racking. As an art school grad, I feel I can give and take criticism fairly well, so it's not rejection I'm dealing with. It's the long wait times in between and the feelings of a lack of progress I'm dealing with. How would you suggest to best cope with such feelings?

Free sci-fi mag online at:thelordshen.com

Posts: 178 | Location: Currently Flint, MI | Registered: 28 December 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
It mightbe related to any sales position. I write ad copy and sell advertising for a publication. However, I have to "sell" the ads that I put together based on what they (the client) wishes to see in the ad. There can be weeks when no one wishes to place an ad, no matter how good the ad looks. In sales, there is an old addage, you have to keeep the hopper full, and evetually something will trickle out.

You, however, are coming from a different view point in that you do not have, immediately that is, someone or someones who are anxious to purchase your wares. But, if you keep enough submissions going out, day after day, something is going to sell.