Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Resources    Question: Story Related... Foreign Tongues...

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Question: Story Related... Foreign Tongues...
 Login/Join

posted
Well the usage is iun regardws to a post put on Nicestories.com it is in reference to inputs there and I decided to put it here to get a second or third opinion.

(hoping that real authors and even RB
himself would ever read this)

Being an amateur writer My question is HUMBLY simple:

Is it acceptable to use foreign languages, wven the semi-false one as Elvish, knowing it is acceptable... But my question actually is in reference if I would have to actually translate every piece of dialogue that was used in this language.

(If it were relavant to story or not.)

Would hate to hell to have some reader be overwhelmed to see that and put down my writing because he did not know what is being said. Or understand. What is the limits on the translation if I use this.

Or would it be a bit more useful that I only translate to what is relavant to the action and story itself.

The piece is VERY well done, and the language is real and using several tomes found on the internet in regards to the Elven Language. Conversationally it can be spoken if it were read and understood if used in the real world.

Based on three dialects it is also including a J.R. Tolkienism Elven language for the Elves in his books. Also use of another couple of independant tomes form another dialect and one using from Gail Baudino's books Strands of Starlight Series. (the languages dialects are mixed, and seem to be working on keeping it real.)

Just a heads up on that.

I am really confused on the limits of the translation. I want to use this, and do so freely to make the characters seem real but confused on the amount of translation.

Hopes someone can clarify

Nathaniel A. Miller

Amateur Writer/Sys Admin