Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Resources    Bradbury and "V for Vendetta"

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Bradbury and "V for Vendetta"
 Login/Join

posted
Hi folks,

I am currently studying "V for Vendetta" (the graphic novel, not the film) and there is a reference to a Bradbury story. I am trying to work out what this might be. In the graphic novel, the character Evey says (p221):

"It's like that Ray Bradbury story you read me, with the cornfield, and each ear of corn is somebody's life..."

Can anyone help me identify what this work might be?

Many thanks,

Jerry

Posts: 2 | Registered: 11 January 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
The story is:
~The Scythe~

Posts: 3954 | Location: South Orange County, CA USA | Registered: 28 June 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
About The Scythe, RB says, "It's a double metaphor. It's the automatic metaphor of knowing farmers and seeing them using the scythe on occasion, and then the obvious metaphor you saw in cartoons or war and death. Reaping harvests. I must have seen a cartoon and carried it to the next step."

It's in Dark Carnival (October 1947). I have the book, and it's wonderful - one of his true horror works.

"Live Forever!"

Posts: 6909 | Location: 11 South Saint James Street, Green Town, Illinois | Registered: 02 October 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
That's great! Many thanks to both Nard and Doug for helping me with this. I'm keen to track the book down now.

Thanks again,

Jerry

Posts: 2 | Registered: 11 January 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Jerry:
I'm keen to track the book down now.

Good luck! They're very rare and almost prohibitively expensive (if you're lucky enough to find one), I believe you couldn't touch one for less than 800$, if that!

"Live Forever!"