Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Resources    Can I Get A "Translator" Over Here?
Page 1 2 3 

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Can I Get A "Translator" Over Here?
 Login/Join

posted Hide Post
I had no idea there were so many of us who can, and do, read in mutiple languages. Absolutely amazing to me. I can speak and read spanish, but have never read anything more daring than a greeting card or Carlos Brown comic in spanish. I guess the "Do Not Add Titanium" caricature on the mop buckets at work here at the local nuclear power plant don't count.

[This message has been edited by grasstains (edited 04-30-2004).]

Posts: 1010 | Location: Sacratomato, Cauliflower | Registered: 29 December 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Hello

This is my first time here. I've always been a great fan of Ray bradbury (always, here, is just about 30 years) but only tonight did I think of searching for a site - ha!

Anyway, the whole translation issue is quite tricky. Poe translates quite nicely into French because it is quite 'abstract' (careful careful) and deals with emotions and atmosphere and nebulous things that could really be anywhere - French is good for that. Unfortunately a lot of Ray Bradbury translates very poorly into French - I think that it's the very inescapable American-ness of his writing (and I don't just mean the stuff set in Greentown when he was a kid) - there are expressions and references and so many details that are very important and dependant on the language itself - Dandelion Wine, mentioned above, is a good example. but the Martian Chronicles come out nicely in French.