Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Resources    Writing habits?

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Writing habits?
 Login/Join

posted
I'm a writer, and I'm sure some of you in this forum write for pleasure or perhaps as a profession. So my question is this: When you're hung up on a story, or you don't have time or energy, how do you keep going? How do you keep in the writing mindset?

Posts: 32 | Location: Provo, Utah, USA | Registered: 09 July 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
When I'm writing and enjoying myself, I have no problem sticking with it. The words come easily, the revisions aren't too frustrating, and the finished products are satisfying. But when the ideas run out, or I get stuck on a story, I'm quick to drop it for a day. Then a week. Soon, my vacation (or maybe stagnation?) from the craft turns into several months.

I've read various books on writing, including Ray's "Zen in the Art of Writing," and love most of the things he and others say. It seems one unanimous bit of advice is: read and write every single day.

All that reading and writing takes time. Lots of time. My only obligation is a full-time job; apart from that, my schedule is almost entirely open, and it's still difficult to set aside enough time. I can't imagine trying to write with familial duties or any kind of social life!

I want to write because I have ideas and emotions and dreams that warrant sharing. I want to write because it's therapeutic, because it's a gratifying practice, because it's exhilarating and wonderful. Writing is my only outlet for all the stuff inside me, and I don't know what will happen if it stays in there.

I'm fortunate enough, for now, to be on the upswing, where I write and read all the time. But if I keep stopping, one of these days I won't pick it up again.

Please share your ideas!