Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Resources    Literary attitudes to totalitarianism

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Literary attitudes to totalitarianism
 Login/Join

posted
Hi,

I'm a final year history student at Exeter University in the UK. I am researching for my final dissertation on Literary attitudes to totalitarianism in the 1940s / 1950s. I have read Fahrenhiet 451 and have a few questions concerning its origin. Was it written as a warning of a future form of totalitarianism, where propaganda and indoctrination was so advanced that the subjects willingly obeyed the state? This theme is obviously present in many of the other major totalitarian writings from this period. However, Farenhiet 451 is different in that the hero escapes from the system, / beats the system? Was this written as part of the western concern for totalitarianism following the war?

I want to determine how the concept of totalitarianism arose and why it was so heavily explored by western authors in this period.

I would greatly appreciate your views on these questions or any other help you can offer

-Thanks

-Max

Posts: 1 | Registered: 02 February 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Max,

welcome to the board. This strikes me as the kind of question that may get quite a few different answers from different people!

(By the way, I am a UK university lecturer, and I have been studying media adaptations of Bradbury for many years.)

If you are interested in BRADBURY's reasons for framing F451 the way he did, I would strongly recommend that you seek out a book called MATCH TO FLAME (publisher's web page here). It includes a detailed essay on the origin of Bradbury's text, and collects several of his works that are considered to be precursors of F451. You will find that he was fascinated by book-burning and the decline of literacy, as well as by totalitarian issues.