Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Resources    Nazi Book Burnings
Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Nazi Book Burnings
 Login/Join

posted Hide Post
"we assasinate thousands of little imaginations every day"

Well put, DanB.

Posts: 229 | Location: Van Nuys, CA USA | Registered: 23 September 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
In my experience as a middle school teacher, I have observed that students want to read a book even more if someone forbids them to read it. (Maybe I should apply that principle to their homework!!) We have an extensive procedure in place to follow when a parent does not want their child to read one of the class novels. Our eighth graders read "Catcher in the Rye," and this year about a dozen families opted out of the novel. Interestingly, all of them attend the same church, and the minister there had actually done a spread sheet on how many times and on what pages the F word was used. Personally I think anyone who has the time to do something like this is in bad need of a life. I respect parents who get involved in their child's education, and I don't even mind if they opt out of a novel. I fully respect their right as a parent to make these decisions. This particular group rubbed me the wrong way though, because they tried to get the novel banned for everyone, and implied that all who studied it were sinners. What I'm getting at though, is that several of these students were sneaking peeks at the novel, when they thought no one was looking. I'm sure they will read it on the sly. Anything that gets their parents so shook up has got to be appealing to an eighth grader. So much for banning books!!

Posts: 774 | Location: Westmont, Illinois 60559 | Registered: 04 January 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post