Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Resources    Need your opinions on stories/plays for 8th graders
Page 1 2 

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Need your opinions on stories/plays for 8th graders
 Login/Join

posted
Hello-

I have been reading this board for a few days. I need any opinions.

I am a 6th-year, drama teacher. I was an English teacher for 17 years before taking this drama position.

It is simple. I miss the depth of thought and discussions that stem from students reading Ray's writings. Therefore, I have decided to find the plays and short stories that you all feel would be interesting to 8th graders to dramatize.

There are some obvious choices, I know--such as: The Veldt, All Summer in A Day, A Piece of Wood, Fahrenheit 451.

So, please let me know what you all think.

Thanks!
Clancy

Posts: 1 | Location: Colorado Springs, CO USA | Registered: 28 July 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Dandelion Wine!

Posts: 16 | Location: Menlo Park, CA USA | Registered: 18 April 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I would recommend some of the chapters from "Martian Chronicles." They lend themselves to great discussions.

Posts: 774 | Location: Westmont, Illinois 60559 | Registered: 04 January 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I'd try 'The Playground" (a great story about bullies/childhood as hell) and then do a story with a similar premise, but the opposite theme "Hail and Farewell" (In 'The Golden Apples of the Sun'), where a man condemned to be a child forever overcomes his alienation by being a son to childless families.

[This message has been edited by wtouponc (edited 07-29-2004).]

Posts: 19 | Location: Indianapolis, Indiana | Registered: 27 June 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post