Ray Bradbury Hompage    Ray Bradbury Forums    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Imported Forums  Hop To Forums  Ray's Legacy    Help on a Research paper...thoughts?

Moderators: dandelion, philnic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Help on a Research paper...thoughts?
 Login/Join

posted
Hello everyone,
I'm a freshmen college student and I chose to do my term paper on Ray Bradbury and his influence on pop culture. I've covered Fahrenheit 451 and how it has influenced movies, discussions, and stands against book banning. Now, I need a little info help. What do you think is Bradbury's other most important works that have had an influence? Also, who, in particular, do you know that he has influenced (well-known, of course). Any little input or website links will really help. Thanks guys.

Posts: 1 | Registered: 09 December 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
At one time, Martian Chronicles was the top selling sci-fi novel of all time. I'm not sure if that's still true, but I know it's had a big impact on millions of readers. Also don't forget that Ray wrote the screenplay for the movie Moby Dick, and I believe he was nominated for an Academy Award for that. Those are just two examples that come to mind, but I'm sure others will think of more.

[This message has been edited by lmskipper (edited 12-09-2003).]

Posts: 581 | Location: Naperville, IL 60564 | Registered: 04 January 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Many of the astronauts that went to the moon said they were very influenced by reading Ray Bradbury when they were young. Astronaut Jim Irwin for instance, who drove the 'Rover-car' on the moon, loved Ray's works. See: Many other of the astronauts have become long time friends with Bradbury.

The scope of his influence is so very great, however. Everyone from Steven Spielberg to Ringo Starr, Katherine Hepburn to The Kirk Douglas family, hold him in great respect for the impact he had in their lives.